Foundation

“God richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.”

1 Timothy 6:17

As I reflect on this passage I am reminded of Phillipians 4:19 “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” When God places children in our care, He has given us the instructions on how to build the foundation of family based on scriptures. From child bearing to finances God has given us to tools for our enjoyment. I was a young mother and was confused with all the self-help books, magazines, etc. If I would know what I know now in Christ, my life as a young mother would have been biblical proportioned and not self-proportioned.

I was not fortunate enough as some to have a faith based foundation that I could carry on into my life as a young mother. Now 26 years later I am able to teach my children now that without God as our foundation we will always be on faulty ground. I use to watch television shows when I was a child and was in awe of the positive foundation of family. I am grateful that now I have a rich biblical foundation to thrive on for my family, friends, members, clients and even strangers to enjoy. By what I went through was not old school or new school but by hard knocks. However, it has afforded me to be able to share that God is able to do exceedingly above all that we could ask thing or imagine. As Helen Steiner Rice so eloquently wrote “Just close your eyes and open your heart and feel your worries depart…” I am reminded that no matter what you went through or came through with a two-parent home, adopted home or no home, that God has prepared a home for us eternally that will supersede any home here on earth.

Leave a Reply

